Argo Wins Big at the SAG Awards

Another night, another win. After being snubbed for a coveted Oscar nomination, Ben Affleck is enjoying much deserved honors from other award shows for his film, Argo.

The movie won the Producers Guild Award for Best Production Saturday night and kept it up on Sunday, as it nabbed the Screen Actors Guild Award for Best Ensemble, beating out Lincoln and Silver Linings Playbook.

However both those movies did earn awards in the actor’s categories at the 19th annual SAG Awards. Tommy Lee Jones won the first award of the night for his supporting role in Lincoln, while fan favorite Jennifer Lawrence won Best Actress for her part in Silver Lining’s Playbook.

For the television categories, Alec Baldwin was a repeat winner. He took home his seventh award for best actor in a comedy series, while his costar Tina Fey, took home the actress in a comedy series win.

It was also a big night for Dick Van Dyke, who was announced by Alec Baldwin as the recipient  of a Screen Actors Guild lifetime achievement award.


Best Ensemble: Argo

Best Actor: Daniel Day-Lewis, Lincoln

Best Actress: Jennifer Lawrence, Silver Linings Playbook

Best Supporting Actor: Tommy Lee Jones, Lincoln (not in attendance.)

Best Supporting Actress: Anne Hathaway, Les Miserables


Comedy Series Ensemble: Modern Family

Actor in a Comedy Series: Alec Baldwin, 30 Rock

Actress in a Comedy Series: Tina Fey, 30 Rock

Drama Series Ensemble: Downton Abbey

Actor in a Drama Series: Bryan Cranston, Breaking Bad

Actress in a Drama Series: Claire Danes, Homeland

Actress in a Movie or Miniseries: Julianne Moore, Game Change

Actor in a Movie or Miniseries: Kevin Costner, Hatfields & McCoys (not in attendance)